Please pardon our classic look. We look forward to revealing this section's new look in July.

Successful Faculty

Mariela Alfonzo, Research Assistant Professor in Technology, Culture and SocietyMariela Alfonzo Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Technology, Culture, and Society, was named an Associate Fellow of the NewCities Foundation — a global nonprofit dedicated to making cities more inclusive, connected, healthy, and vibrant — for her accomplishments in the field of placemaking, whose practitioners seek to design and manage local-level public spaces that promote wellbeing.


Joseph Chow, Assistant Professor of Civil and Urban EngineeringAssistant Professor of Civil and Urban Engineering Joseph Chow, who is active NYU’s new research center Connected Cities for Smart Mobility toward Accessible and Resilient Transportation (C2SMART) and heads the Behavioral Urban Informatics, Transport and Logistics (BUILT) Laboratory, was the recepient of a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award, more widely known as CAREER Award. The prestigious prize was bestowed in recognition of his studies of how Big Data can inform the design of urban trasnportation systems, with a special emphasis on the privacy issues inherent in gathering and interpreting that data.


Elza Erkip, Professor of Electrical and Computer EngineeringProfessor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Elza Erkip was given the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Women in Communications Engineering (WICE) Award for her outstanding technical work in communications engineering and for bringing a high degree of visibility to the field. Erkip has made several significant advances in communications technology and is considered one of the pioneers of cooperative networking.


Juliana Freire, Professor of Computer Science and EngineeringProfessor of Computer Science and Engineering Juliana Freire was elected as chair of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Management of Data (SIGMOD). Known for her seminal work on data reproducibility and her development of data science tools for projects with a social justice slant, she is the first woman to be elected as chair of SIGMOD in its 42-year history.


Constantine E. Kontokosta, Assistant Professor of Urban Informatics in Civil and Urban EngineeringAssistant Professor of Urban Informatics in the Department of Civil and Urban Engineering Constantine E. Kontokosta, who directs the Urban Intelligence Lab, garnered a CAREER Award for his efforts to develop a data-driven understanding of cities and metropolitan energy dynamics and the impacts on human well-being. Kontokosta has been widely praised for launching the Quantified Community research initiative, deploying sensors to measure factors such as noise and air quality in various areas of the city.


Miguel Modestino, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular EngineeringIt isn’t every day that academics and fashion industry insiders interact, but that was the situation when Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Miguel Modestino accepted a 2017 Global Change Award from the H&M Foundation. The organization recognized Modestino for his efforts to  synthesize nylon — a popular material whose annual market is valued at more than $20 billion — using water, plant waste, and solar energy, rather than fossil fuel. Modestino also received the rare honor of being named to MIT Technology Review’s Latin American Innovators under 35 list.


Yong Liu, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer EngineeringAssociate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Yong Liu, a faculty member of the Center for Advanced Technology in Telecommunications (CATT) and NYU WIRELESS, was named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world’s largest technical professional association, for contributions to multimedia networking.


New Faculty

This year, we were happy to welcome to the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering Tom Marzetta, renowned for originating Massive MIMO (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output), one of the cornerstones of fifth generation wireless technology.

He joins an impressive list of other new faculty members:
  • Greg Aloupis
    Computer Science & Engineering
  • Dora Angelaki
    Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering / FAS, Neural Science
  • Eray Aydil
    Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Amber Benezra
    Technology, Culture & Society
  • Tega Brain
    Technology, Culture, & Society
  • Eugene Callahan
    Computer Science & Engineering
  • Yanir Maidenberg
    Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Ludovic Righetti
    Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering / Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • David Shimko
    Finance & Risk Engineering
  • Paul Torrens
    Computer Science & Engineering / CUSP
  • Gianna Figà-Talamanca
    Finance & Risk Engineering
  • Nicholas Dizinno
    Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
  • Jörg Schumacher
    Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering