Please pardon our classic look. We look forward to revealing this section's new look in July.

Leadership and Administration

Katepalli R. Sreenivasan

President and Dean of Engineering at NYU

Katepalli Sreenivasan is President of NYU Tandon School of Engineering and Dean of Engineering at New York University, where he also serves as Executive Vice Provost in charge of science and technology.  In this capacity, Sreenivasan focuses on the development of faculty, research, and educational programs at the School of Engineering, all in partnership with other centers of scientific research throughout NYU. 

Sreenivasan was appointed the acting president of NYU Tandon School of Engineering in November 2012, following a 13-month term as the school’s provost. He joined NYU in 2009 from the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste, Italy, where he was director, and was concurrently on the faculty of the University of Maryland, where he was Distinguished University Professor, Glenn L. Martin Professor of Engineering and professor of physics, and director of the Institute for Physical Science and Technology. 

Prior to that, Sreenivasan taught at Yale since 1979 as a faculty member, first in the department of engineering and applied science and subsequently in several other capacities: he was the Harold W. Cheel Professor of Mechanical Engineering (1988-2002) and held joint appointments in the departments of physics, applied physics and mathematics; he was also the chair of the mechanical engineering department (1987-1992) and the acting chairman of the council of engineering (1989). His post-doctoral work included two years in Australia and at the Johns Hopkins University for a similar period of time. He has been a visiting professor at Caltech, Rockefeller University, Cambridge University, and the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, among others.

An active researcher, Sreenivasan continues his work in turbulence, cryogenic helium and nonlinear dynamics, and has retained his NYU appointment as a university professor, jointly in physics and mathematics.

He earned his B.E. (first rank) in mechanical engineering from Bangalore University, his M.E. (first rank) and Ph.D. (P.S. Narayana Medal) in aeronautical engineering from the Indian Institute of Science.


Sreenivasan’s honors include:

  • Guggenheim Fellowship
  • Otto Laporte Memorial Award of American Physical Society
  • TWAS Medal Lecture in Engineering Science
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award and Centennial Professorship of the Indian Institute of Science
  • Sir C.V. Raman Visiting Professorship of the Indian Academy of Sciences
  • International Prize and Gold Medal in memory of Professors Modesto Panetti and Carlo Ferrari
  • Academia delle Scienze di Torino, Italy
  • National Order of Scientific Merit (the highest scientific honor) by the Brazilian Government and the Academy of Sciences
  • UNESCO Medal for Promoting International Scientific Cooperation and World Peace from the World Heritage Centre, Florence, Italy
  • President Dr. Zakir Husain Memorial Award from the Duty Society and the Indian Society of Applied and Industrial Mathematics
  • Honorary Membership, Academia Torre e Tasso, Duino-Aurisina, Trieste, Italy
  • Melvin Jones Fellow of the Lions Club (for humanitarian service)
  • Dwight Nicholson Medal of the American Physical Society for human outreach
  • 2009 Nusselt-Reynolds Prize from the Assembly of World Conference on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics
  • 2009 AAAS award for International Scientific Cooperation
  • 2011 Multicultural Leadership Award of the National Diversity Council

Sreenivasan has been elected to the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Indian National Science Academy, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS), and the African Academy of Sciences, the US National Academy of Sciences, US National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Accademia die Lincei in Italy. Within the National Academies, Sreenivasan has served on the NAE Committee on Membership and the Mechanical Engineering Section (chair, vice chair, member) and the Mechanical Engineering Peer Committee (chair, vice chair, member); the NAS Class III Membership Committee; the NRC Committee on Human Rights of the NAS, NAE, and IOM; the Committee on Condensed-Matter and Materials Physics; and the Nonlinear Dynamics and Fractals Committee; and on the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences Editorial Board.

View the Dean's Profile